Bruce Springsteen Announces Album Full Of Soul Covers

via | Instagram

Only the Strong Survive, a new album of soul covers by Bruce Springsteen, will be released on November 11th.

Springsteen’s website offers preorders for the record in vinyl, CD, and digital download forms. The track listing is shown below.

Rumors about a new Springsteen album began to circulate when the founding editor of Rolling Stone Jann Wenner casually referenced the release during an interview with Billboard.

“I’m kind of stuck with the music I liked when I was young,” the previous magazine executive observed. “Give me the Stones. There’s a new Bruce [Springsteen] record coming out this fall, which is stunning. I’m listening to that.”

The new album marks Springsteen’s lengthy career’s 21st studio album. Letter to You, the Boss’ most recent album, was released in 2020.

Springsteen described the roots and expressive importance of the new LP in a YouTube video below:

The release of Only the Strong Survive is announced as Springsteen prepares for his 2023 tour. The tour begins on February 1 in Tampa and lasts until an appearance on April 14 in Newark, New Jersey. After that, the Boss will go abroad for a string of European concerts.

Springsteen will embark on his first tour with the E Street Band since 2017. He has lately been under criticism for the shows’ expensive tickets, particularly for Ticketmaster’s “dynamic pricing” for “Official Platinum” seats, which in some instances has increased beyond $4,000 per ticket.


Track listing for Bruce Springsteen’s album “Only the Strong Survive”

1. “Only the Strong Survive” (Originally performed by Jerry Butler)
2. “Soul Days” (Dobie Gray) feat. Sam Moore
3. “Nightshift” (The Commodores)
4. “Do I Love You (Indeed I Do)” (Frank Wilson)
5. “The Sun Ain’t Gonna Shine Anymore” (Frankie Valli / The Walker Brothers)
6. “Turn Back the Hands of Time” (Tyrone Davis)
7. “When She Was My Girl” (The Four Tops)
8. “Hey, Western Union Man” (Jerry Butler)
9. “I Wish It Would Rain” (The Temptations)
10. “Don’t Play That Song” (Ben E. King / Aretha Franklin)
11. “Any Other Way” (William Bell / Jackie Shane)
12. “I Forgot to Be Your Lover” (William Bell) feat. Sam Moore
13. “7 Rooms of Gloom” (The Four Tops)
14. “What Becomes of the Brokenhearted” (Jimmy Ruffin)
15. “Someday We’ll Be Together” (Johnny & Jackey / Diana Ross and the Supremes)